Points Reduced on Your Speeding Ticket - or Your Money Back.
Speeding tickets result in points on your license and could raise your insurance rates.
There are several methods police use to calculate a motorist’s speed.
In Pennsylvania, only the State Police are permitted to use Radar. Local police departments are required to use other means to record a vehicle’s speed. In court, the officer must bring proof that the radar unit was tested for accuracy and certified.
- Vascar / Accutrak
This is the most common means to record a motorist’s speed and is commonly known as a “Speed Trap.” In this method, there are 2 premeasured painted lines on the roadway and the officer times the vehicle from the first line to the second line to calculate the speed. This method is very subjective and is subject to human error.
Enradd is a relatively new speed timing device in Pennsylvania in which the speed is calculated when the vehicle passes through 2 infrared beams across the roadway. The speed is then electronically sent to the police cruiser which is usually sitting nearby.
Pacing occurs when an officer follows a vehicle at the same rate of speed using the patrol vehicle’s speedometer. The vehicle must be filed for at least 3/10 of a mile and the officer must show in court that the vehicle’s speedometer was tested for accuracy.
If you are convicted of Speeding, points will be added to your license based on the speed the officer calculated.
- 2 points: 6-10 mph over the limit
- 3 points: 11-15 mph over the limit
- 4 points: 16-25 mph over limit
- 5 point major violation: 26+ mph over the limit.
A conviction for 31 mph+ over the limit, you will be required to attend a PennDOT hearing to determine if your license will be suspended for excessive speeding.Additional Speeding-Related Offenses
Speeding in an Active Work Zone - If convicted of this offense and the speed is greater than 11 mph over the posted limit, there will be a mandatory 15 day license suspension.
Speeding in a School Zone is a 3 point moving violation and could carry a mandatory 60 day license suspension for a 2nd or subsequent conviction. The speed limit in a school zone is set by law at 15 mph and the school zone must be posted with signs at the beginning and end of the school zone.
Driving a Vehicle at Safe Speeds is a 2 point moving violation. This law is commonly referred to a Driving Too Fast for Conditions. In order to prove this violation, the officer must prove that the motorist did not drive at a “reasonable and prudent” speed under the conditions. It is a subjective standard and is not based on any specific speed.
“I ALREADY PAID THE FINE AND WAS FOUND GUILTY”. If you already paid the fine or if you were found guilty in traffic court, you have 30 days to appeal the case to the Court of Common Pleas in the county courthouse. You will then be given a “trial de novo” which means you get a whole new trial as if the traffic court decision never occurred. If the citation carries points, then the points will temporarily be added to your license, and if you are successful in reducing points in the appeal, then Penndot will amend your record after the appeal hearing.
If you are cited with any type of moving violation you should follow the instructions on the ticket and plead Not Guilty as convictions lead to points on your license, increased insurance premiums and possible license suspensions. You only have 10 days to enter a plea of either guilty or not guilty and failure enter a plea within 10 days can lead to an automatic license suspension.
The attorneys at Ellis B. Klein & Associates have a 99% success rate in reducing points on most moving violations. If we are unable to reduce the points on your moving violation then we will refund your fee in full. Call us BEFORE paying the fine.